Big Bear Trip

Big Bear Trip

As I was reading “the Catcher in the Rye”, in the chapter where Holden leaves pencey early and decides to leave to New York, it brought up a similar experience I had during winter break. My experience is similar to Holden’s in the sense that it was a new and unfamiliar experience for him as if it was for me. During winter break, I went to Big Bear with 10 other friends. We all pitched in for renting a cabin, and we decided to spend a weekend there. The two biggest reasons we went was to go skiing (click for a cool video of people skiing), and to hang out and have a good time with each other. For that weekend we would go into town whether to get dinner, or to buy some groceries we needed such as marshmallows for S’mores.

CP Big Bear Village.jpgimages.jpeg

Big Bear The last time I went to Big Bear was when I was 4, so I really didn’t remember much. When we went into town everything seemed so different, people acted different, dressed different, etc… Everything was so different compared to how it is Huntington Beach. For me, it felt like I was in a different state or a different country. Huntington Beach is so much more urban than Big Bear so it was nice to see how people spent their past time. From my observations it seems like a lot of people go to diners, talk and have a good time. Even though, Big Bear is only a few hours from here, the lifestyle there compared to here is different, and was very unfamiliar to me. This similar to Holden’s experience in a sense. Even though he is familiar with New York, he faces new things and has a very unfamiliar experience such as dealings with the blonde girl he dances with, and the conflict he faces with Maurice, when he scams Holden to pay him five more dollars. Also another thought struck me, I find it really interesting how you can do the same things, go to the same places over and over,  but somehow it always ends up being a brand new experience and creates so many new memories.

images-1.jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

